A Quaint Prayer


Praying Gopher

On a wall near the cathedral of Chester, England, hangs this very practical prayer:

Give me a good digestion, Lord,

And something to digest.

Give me a healthy body, Lord,

With sense to keep it at its best.

Give me a healthy mind, Good Lord,

To keep the good and pure in sight,

Which, seeing sin, is not appalled,

But finds a way to set it right.

Give me a mind that is not bored,

That does not whimper, whine, or sigh;

Don’t let me worry overmuch,

About the fussy thing called “I”.

Give me a sense of humor, Lord,

Give me the grace to see a joke,

To get some pleasure out of life,

And pass it on to other folk.

— Keep Smiling

Leave a Reply

