What Do You Think?


Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Watch your words, for they become actions. Watch your actions, for they become habits. Watch your habits, for they become character. Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

Everything starts with a thought. And our thoughts today become our world tomorrow.

I once heard a story that went something like this:

An old man was sitting outside his store on the outskirts of a small town. Around midday, a stranger came and approached the old man. “Hello,” said the stranger, “I’m moving to this town and I’d like to know, how are the people in this town?” 

“How would you describe the people in your old town?” the old man replied. 

“Oh, they were mean, spiteful and rude people. I didn’t like them.”

“Then you’ll find the people in this town just the same.”

And the stranger moved on.

A few hours later, another stranger came to the town. Like the first stranger, he approached the old man and said, “Good afternoon. I’m new to this town. I’d like to know, how are the people in this town?”

“How were the people in your old town?” replied the old man.

“Oh, they were wonderful, kind, helpful people. I liked them a lot.”

“Then you will find the people here just the same.”

If I asked you which of these two strangers you are, which one would you answer? We’d all like to say the second stranger.. but sometimes it’s easier to be like the first stranger – to be negative and to be judgmental of other people. I used to do this a lot. Even when I became more active in my walk with God, I still resorted to this bad habit. Then one day, the tables were turned and I was the one who got judged harshly. It was my wake up call. I got a dose of my own bitter medicine. And you  know what? I didn’t like it one bit. Lesson learned, it is not for any of us to judge others – that right is for God, and God alone. No matter how holy, righteous, or sinless we think we are, we have no right to judge our fellow human beings – after all, we’re all on the same playing field.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. — Philippians 4:8

Leave a Reply

